Commencement Honors Announced

On Sunday, May 21, 2017, Wayland Academy will bid a fond farewell to the Class of 2017 in Lindsay Auditorium. In preparation for this event, the Academy is pleased to announce some of the highest honors to be delivered on that weekend. This year’s Valedictorian is Valentina Buccoliero of Sao Paulo, Brazil. The Co-Salutatorians for the Class of 2017 are Tianyi Zhu of Jinan, China, and Paul Derr of Beaver Dam.

The Valedictorian and Salutatorian honors are awarded by the faculty to the seniors who best fulfill Wayland’s motto of “Knowledge and Character.” In addition to high academic achievement, these students have demonstrated strong commitment to the school’s ideals.

Wayland’s Junior Marshals are four students in the Class of 2018 elected to lead the school’s faculty and seniors to Commencement. They are selected by the same high standards used to evaluate the senior class. The Junior Marshals for this year’s class are Eric Kane, Zoe Kane, Milena Pak, and Esther Zigira.

In addition, the Academy is pleased to welcome back an outstanding educator, Dr. Heidi Eisenreich `97, as this year’s Commencement Speaker. In addition to graduating from Wayland, Dr. Eisenreich served as a mathematics teacher at the Academy for eight years and Assistant Dean of Students for two years. She recently completed her PhD in mathematics at the University of Central Florida and currently is an Assistant Professor of Mathematics Education at Georgia Southern University.